Crock of Cocks

I’m shit at political commentary or analysis. I once turned down a Labour Party nomination – on the grounds that I was shit at keeping calm and anyway didn’t think I was old enough or knew enough to be an MSP or MP.

I’ve not improved with age. I’m worse. Now that I know and have experienced more, I think I really understand now, just how much there is, that I really don’t understand.

Anyway. I’m sick of reading the ham-analysis of the US election. Or the working-class blaming that’s going on. I’m repulsed by the white supremacists and the Breitbart misogynists and climate change deniers now populating the most powerful House in the world.

I am frightened to venture onto social media platforms – because I know I will pick at the scab and read the comments sections and then get so fucking angry I’ll pace the house for the rest of the day. I’ve been incoherent with this burning rage so many times this week that I’ve ended up scaring Jamie – though I hope he’s learned that there are some things it’s just plain unsafe to play devil’s advocate with in this house.

This will sound like another idiotic comment (because yes, it’s the money stupid!) but this is just another thing that I don’t get about Trump’s success. That someone who knows so little – and has so few talents – should have this implacable, impregnable belief that he is ‘awesome’, ‘wonderful’, ‘just great, truly great’.

He’s the type of kid we all tried to avoid but were often in thrall to. You know the one – the one who’d have a tantrum if he didn’t get his own way; the one whose parents thought parenting was about how many toys you had; the one who blackmailed quiet, brainy kids and threatened to ‘tell everyone to fall out with you if you don’t give me the answers’ (yip, this happened to me… you can tell, can’t you…); the one whose self-confidence was so misplaced as to be pathological… malignant, malevolent, manipulating…

He’s the boss at work whose unpredictability and need to have his ego stroked means staff turnover in his section is sky high. He’s the person who is only interested in your praise or your usefulness to him.

I can’t comprehend how someone who is otherwise, at best, a consummate mediocrity can have so little insight as to think they are ‘the best’ ‘better than the best’. Shee-itttt… if Daddy hadn’t left him millions is there any chance he’d have achieved anything very much at all

My mother still says ‘don’t draw attention to your faults, talk about your positives’ and ‘you can do anything you put your mind to – you’re your only limit’. But that was tempered by ‘not everything’s about you’… and I was regularly decried as ‘selfish’ if I overstepped the mark…

Trump was never exposed to self-doubt. Or to criticism. Not even the ‘constructive’ stuff.

He could’ve done with some.

He could have done with a lot of it.

His (sadly, regrettably) Scottish Mother clearly didn’t like Rabbie Burns…

O wad some Power the giftie gie us
To see oursels as ithers see us!
It wad frae mony a blunder free us,
An’ foolish notion:
What airs in dress an’ gait wad lea’e us,
An’ ev’n devotion!

(from his poem ‘To a Louse’ – written in 1786 ‘on seeing one on a Lady’s Bonnet, At Church)

Anyway… Ana came to the rescue last night with her anti-bullying poster for school. I’m not sure it’s what the teacher intended or expects but I love it.

ana-anti-bully-poster

7 thoughts on “Crock of Cocks

  1. As a poster, I think it’s superb. As a potential exhortation to stop bullying I hae me doots. As a suggestion to potential bullies that if you bully you’ll get what you want it may be a rallying call.

    • You know she just disappeared to do her homework – and came back with this. I suspect the teacher will likely say it doesn’t qualify as an anti-bullying poster – but Ana is nothing but determined and she advises she has explained to her pals already just why they shouldn’t ‘be like Trump’ 🙂 Some might say she’s a brainwashed mite. I’m proud of her (again). 🙂

  2. Hmmm not sure that poster is anti-bullying but made me laugh!

    Trump might (amateur psychologist here) be telling himself as well as you that he is great because he needs reminding of this. It may be he believes it! It could also be that being in the US he can get away with such talk, many admire that sort of thing. here we just cry “I ken his faither” and he is lost.
    There again we read him through the media, bit for and against, neither are honest. Who knows what really goes on inside his head, who knows the pressure outside of the ‘in group’ that he will face, I cannot imagine the military will be impressed, and too many Lobby groups to push him about also.
    “Fret not because of the wicked” they are with us always, just think Keith Lasley…..

  3. I guess you’ve heard that fine old prayer – “God, grant me the self-confidence of a mediocre white man.”

    Hate to victim-blame but I can’t help but feel a lot of this specimen’s success was down to his opposition not being confident enough in communicating their own visions.

    • I’m a fully paid up believer of Rorty’s analysis – delivered with prescience, a full 18 years ago… http://www.openculture.com/2016/11/philosopher-richard-rorty-chillingly-predicts-the-results-of-the-2016-election.html
      Neoliberalism did this. Growing levels of inequality did this. It created the economic dislocation and exclusion that results in blind unthinking fury – the type of anger that responds so well to ‘other’ hate.
      Well. Ok. That’s simplistic – but there’s a white class that fear the effects of ‘equality’ – they need someone to feel superior to. Then there’s the shitty system that masquerades as ‘democratic’.
      It seems to me that you can’t be a social liberal – but leave the economy up to’the market’. You can’t preach equality whilst at the same time presiding over the biggest growth in poverty and the biggest-ever gap between rich and poor.
      I am so fucked off today. Fucking Sessions?? And then Flynn…
      Mind you in other news – the Scottish Government got to join in the Supreme Court fight against triggering Art 50 (Brexit) here. The cats are now pals and Ernie (the black and white older one) chased a fox out of the village this morning. And I have a bottle of red I’ll be opening soon and a bar of galaxy chocolate I’m about to attack.
      I’m taking my pleasures where I find them. My wee nod to hedonism 😉

      • Well, my grand gesture so far against renascent Fascism was buying eight types of handmade chocolate bars at an artisan fair last weekend (the creme brulee was the best but the rosemary was a close second)

Leave a Reply

