Write what you know

Write what you know

He said.

I said

And what do I know.

 

I rake through dirty washing.

Sift socks and laddered tights.

Fold towels. Sort shirts.

And bin the too-torn and the too-worn and dream.

 

My Mother said, when asked

A clean shite n spoon-feed fur a livin’

I’ve inherited the family trade.

 

And though I love the smell of wind-blasted clothes

I never get to the bottom of that basket

 

What words would I find there

Amongst the odd socks and dirty knickers?

Leave a Reply

