This is what the sun brings…

The Row is wreathed in the smoke of BBQs. The communal back green is hotching with sun reddening white skinned Scots (and many honorary Scots – cos this Row is a safe haven for English immigrants escaping their barbarous heathen right wing regions). Sausages, burgers, steaks, chicken wings – they are adopting their customary charcoal coats to hide their under-cooked middles. Someone will suffer a dose of the trots tonight.

We have new neighbours. A wee tribe of ex-pat angles renting number 7. Another family occupying that space. And seeing them I thought of those who were gone.

Today has been a day of looking back. Realising that I am at the age when the bulk of life is behind me. Days like this join a lengthening vista of similar days now past. And I feel the shadowy presence of friends and neighbours lost and moved on. Do you remember when…? That is the motif of a glitteringly sunny day like today.

As I type I can hear the laughter of my own two wee ones. Racing after footballs. The baby high and squealing as she thunders the ball past her leaden footed brother into the make shift goal mouth.

R is stripping the garden back. Peeling away the winter layers of dead vegetation. Scything the wild dog roses which are already half way to rosehip fecundity. The badger sett has been left – a dirt-dust mound, scat-trailed – for this years inhabitants to rest and live in peace.

Salad day. I am going to snip the wild leaves and sit in the sun amongst the buzz of insects.

Tomorrow is the first day of a busy stressing work week. But for today there shall be this little oasis.

The Row before the descent of the hoards of sun-worshipping BBQ-ers….

6 thoughts on “This is what the sun brings…

  1. The bulk of my life is behind me too….but I tend to look forward rather than back.

    Yes, I remember when….but that's in the past and now is another sunny day – but without a bout of BBQ special to look forward to tonight.

    You do have a nice community…

  2. Given the affluence of NL I think it's quite amusing that you say that English immigrants escaping …right wing regions are 'escaping' there. All part of the academic and affluent left wing brigade (to which, I hasten to add, I also belong).

  3. Loved the image of the sausages behaving like the sun reddening white skinned Scots:

    “…they are adopting their customary charcoal coats to hide their under-cooked middles…”

    And the image of snipping wild leaves among the buzz of insects.

    Happy days.

  4. I grilled so much last year..I burnt through the gas lines (despite an absolute preference for charcoal…we keep receiving fancy gas grills as presents).

    The neighbors gave us very nice grill but I haven't gassed it up yet.

    Tomorrow, yesterday…now. Seems to me like you're still pretty sharp. That row's sharp too.

  5. The Row is a wee slice of heaven to live in. Even when the snow falls and the wind howls and the slates on the roof slide and fall on your car (this happens with monotonous winter/autumn/spring regularity!).
    It looks beautiful. And having come from an ugly Scottish coalfield I appreciate the aesthetics…
    The river is over the hedge and down the cliff side. The sound of the waterfall lulls you to sleep on quiet window-open nights.
    My lad is off out fishing tomorrow – so trout for the BBQ beckons if the sun is still shining…

Leave a Reply

