The Support of Friends

I am compelled to share this. I received it this morning. It came from just one of the Directors I work with…

What can I say, Yvonne? Our conversations these last two nights have been lovely landmarks in your journey into, through and out of your dark places. It feels as though you have found the optimism, drive and humour which you had mislaid and I’m really chuffed for you that you are feeling so much you.

You’ll have worked out by now that all of life is a metaphor. Well, not quite all but near enough. The picture above is on the way up to that fabulous vantage point. The Chinese are right that every journey starts with a single step. What they don’t say is that every summit is reached through hard work, perseverance, some bad words, a bit of pain and a lot of pleasure. All made so much better by having the right companions on the journey – the speck in the picture is my pal Alan who is a right companion for a hill journey.
Keep on the climb. Remember that there are sometimes false summits. Sometimes you have to go down a wee bit to go up again (though I have  a personal campaign with the Lord of the Mountains about this!). Sometimes you have to pause a while to recover your breath, look around and take in where you are. Sometimes you have to cross mushy ground where the boot eating bog monster lurks. Sometimes it all looks impossibly steep but usually there is a path threading its way through the obstacles. Sometimes the top stays out of reach or is stolen by the mist fairies. But every step, no matter how small, how slow and how much it hurts, is another step on your journey.
And the reward? You own the view and gain your perspective.
See you next week …………………

We will go for a curry in Glasgow next week. I have a great many reasons to be grateful.
6 thoughts on “The Support of Friends

  1. You are in good company but, I suspect the patience and compassion is also a result of you being very good…at what you do and for the people you work with.

    Fair trade I reckon.

  2. So they tell me e.f.! And you know what? I am beginning to be well enough to be prepared to accept that! Progress indeed…
    And also very strange to say -I am grateful now that I suffered the burnout, the depression. Maybe masochism rules eh! – but a wee bit burning of rust from the mind has done me good…

  3. I don't think it's masochism (your last comment) but a realisation that you have the strength of mind to have used the Bad Experience to good effect. I would suggest that such Bad Times can, if we wish them to, help us to understand not only ourselves better but also the problems of others.

    The message that you have quoted is so much a message that I would loved to have penned (regardless of to whom I was intending it) because it is true and therefore beautiful.

  4. It IS beautiful, isn't it. I have been very touched by all that this colleague has done for me. It was she who gave me the giraffe metaphor (earlier post) – she who has called at least once or twice a week to make sure I was doing alright. There are others who have been similarly caring and to whom I ought my gratitude – but the quoted message was just such a wonderful one to receive and I thought others might even benefit from reading it.

Leave a Reply

