Christmas Poem – A Communist Scottish Granpa’s Contribution…

My old Granpa recited this every Xmas. Hed be unco fu, be bouncing one of the multitude of wains on his knee, every now and then removing his black NHS-framed glasses to wipe the sweat from his brow – for the room would be heaving and every pot in the small house would be bubbling…


I warn you – it is long. It is political. He also did a funny version – but my Mum and I cannot remember how it went…(apologies)… 


It might help you to know that he was a founder member of the Wishaw Young Communists….

http://www.christmas-time.com/cp-work.html

And despite the contribution…. HAPPY CHRISTMAS TO YOU!

8 thoughts on “Christmas Poem – A Communist Scottish Granpa’s Contribution…

  1. My parents were not young Communists and were both from quite privileged backgrounds (not mutually exclusive of course) 'though through death and the slump by the time they married, life was very hard and money was tight and remained so until my parents retired. However I can recall that poem being recited and myself reciting it too (in a shortened version) in my parent's house when I was knee-high to a grasshopper.

  2. You made me smile when I read your comment Graham. Mum and I were reciting that poem today – and my kids know it too. Some things become traditions. I sometimes wonder if my Granpa would be surprised. Your parents sound like very good people – something that doesn't surprise me at all!

  3. Finally found time to respond to your latest post: rather thought-provoking, yes. Made me do a hasty web-search on Mr. George R. Sims. So now I am drowning in all this historical relevancy which can apply to future lectures at school. A good way to start 2012.

    Hope you have a great year!

  4. Thanks for this Yvonne. Had not seen it before and they are terrific, stirring lines which I can imagine had a big impact on you.
    My mother had a similar loyalty to and fondness for The Ragged-Trousered Philanthropists by Robert Tressell and she would often quote lines from it.
    Thus are we made.
    A very Happy New Year to you.

  5. Tressel really is the book of books Fly. It needs a re-print – and for the world to waken up to the central messages… I am continually staggered (deeply saddened) by how contemporary it is.

Leave a Reply

