summer

last night the birds sang clear and strong-voiced in the quietness of the valley…the pipistrels swooped from the house eaves and amongst the darkening trees…the air was laden with promise of a good tomorrow…

and today is wonderful

the street has been busy with day-trippers and neighbours car-washing and grass-strimming. The kids are running wild at the top of the garden. They’ve built themselves a ‘den’ and have been busy all morning ferrying goodies from the house to furnish their sweety larder…I can hear their laughter and squeals. Evan has a water gun and has Ana and Jamie soaked.

I’ve swept and polished and am preparing for tonight’s theatre (Ibsen at the Citz) and meal and clubbing (gay gay gay all the way!) and night spent at E’s house. Oh freedom!!

I could not leave this countryside home – but the prospect of a night in the city is so exhilirating! Adult company and fun! The smell of baking tarmac petrol fumes and kebab shops and the bedazzling spectacle of youth displaying in all its finery.

My own serious earnest youth is remembered with irony now. The 18 yr old me was studious and beset with self-consciousness.

Oh! Being forty+ is liberating!! I have no desire to prove my worthiness now. No hang-ups about appearance (I’ll never be better than I am just this moment in time!!). I just want to laugh and be happy! To hell with it!

Leave a Reply

